

The Director -General

Luxembourg ENER.AAE.001/AV

NOTE FOR THE ATTENTION OF EURATOM SUPPLY AGENCY'S ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Subject: Written procedure on the opinion of ESA Advisory Committee on the final accounts 2019

According to Article 8 of the Statutes of the Euratom Supply Agency (ESA), the Advisory Committee (AC) should provide an opinion on the Agency's annual accounts once they have been audited by the European Court of Auditors(ECA).

As the spring AC meeting 2020 was postponed due to the COVID19 pandemic, an exceptional written procedure was used for the delivery of the AC opinion.

On 30 April 2020, the Audited Provisional Accounts 2019 together with the relevant audit conclusions of the European Court of Auditors were transmitted to all AC members for consultation via the secure electronic platform CIRCABC.

Furthermore, on 19 May 2020, the Chair of the AC, Mr Hans-Christoph PAPE, received officially the preliminary observations of the ECA resulting from the audit mission 2019. The preliminary observations give assurance on both the reliability of the accounts and the legality and regularity of the transactions underlying the accounts.

Under the written procedure, a favourable opinion to the audited accounts 2019 would have been deemed granted unless a comment from the AC members had been received by 31st May 2020.

In our capacities as Director-General of the Euratom Supply Agency (ESA) and as Secretary of the Advisory Committee of ESA, herewith we confirm that:

- 1. the Audited Annual accounts for the financial year 2019, together with a European Court of Auditors' Preliminary Audit Report assuring the reliability of the accounts and the legality and regularity of the transactions underlying the accounts, have been submitted to analysis by the AC members,
- 2. AC members had one month to review the documents and provide their comments.
- 3. no comments were received by 31/5/2020.

Accordingly, it is deemed that:

> the AC delivered a favourable opinion on ESA's audited accounts for 2019 on 31st May 2020 by written procedure.

(e-signed) (e-signed)

Remigiusz BARAŃCZYK Agnieszka KAŹMIERCZAK Secretary of the Advisory Committee Director-General

c.c.: Hans-Christoph PAPE, Aikaterini VRAILA, Stefano CICCARELLO, Stefanos KARDARAS